Energy Healer

A Beginner’s Guide to the 7 Chakras

Energy Healer and Energy Healing Teacher

The seven chakras are the body’s primary energy centers. You’ve probably heard people speak about “unblocking” their chakras, which relates to the concept that when all of our chakras are open, energy can freely flow through them and the physical body, mind, and spirit are in harmony. In Sanskrit, chakra means “wheel,” and you can picture them as free-flowing positive energy wheels.

In this blog, you will learn how to tell if any of your 7 key chakras are out of control. From root to crown, we’ll go through the distinguishing features, components, and colors of each chakra.

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

Our base is represented by the Muladhara, or root chakra. It lies at the base of the spine on the human body and gives us a sense of being grounded. When the root chakra is open, we have faith in our ability to overcome obstacles and stand on our own. We feel threatened when it’s blocked, as if we’re standing on shaky ground.

  • Location: Base of spine, in tailbone area
  • What it controls: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food
  • Mantra: “I can’t grow from an unsteady foundation.”
  • Element: Earth
  • Yoga pose: Warrior I
  • Color: Red
  • Stone: Hematite
  • When it develops: 1-7 years old

Sacral Chakra (Swadhisthana)

The sacral chakra, or Swadhisthana, influences how we react to our own and others’ emotions. It also controls sexual energy and imagination. Those who have their sacral chakra blocked can experience a loss of control in their lives.

  • Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel
  • What it controls: Your sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, and sexuality
  • Mantra: “I always honor others but not before myself.”
  • Color: Orange
  • Element: Water
  • Stone: Tiger’s Eye
  • Yoga pose: Bound Angle Pose
  • When it develops: 8-14 years old

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

The solar plexus chakra, the third chakra, represents the desire to be self-assured and in command of your life. Consider the last time you experienced butterflies or a pit in your stomach: that’s the Manipura chakra at work. You can experience intense feelings of guilt and self-doubt if your solar plexus chakra is blocked. Those who have their sacral chakras open are free to be themselves.

  • Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area
  • What it controls: Self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem
  • Mantra: “Self-love starts when I accept all parts of myself.”
  • Color: Yellow
  • Element: Fire
  • Stone: Amber
  • Yoga pose: Boat Pose
  • When it develops: 15-21 years old

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

The Anahata, or heart chakra, serves as a link between the lower (material) and upper (spiritual) chakras (associated with spirituality). This chakra, as its name implies, can affect our ability to give and receive love from others and ourselves. When the heart chakra is blocked, it is difficult to completely open up to the people in one’s life. If someone’s heart is open, they can experience deep compassion and empathy.

  • Location: Center of chest, just above the heart
  • What it controls: Love, joy, and inner peace
  • Mantra: “When I love myself, loving others comes easily.”
  • Color: Green
  • Element: Air
  • Stone: Rose Quartz
  • Yoga pose: Camel Pose
  • When it develops: 21-28 years old

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

The Vishuddha, or throat chakra, regulates our ability to express our personal power and gives voice to the heart chakra. When it’s working well, it helps us to express ourselves fully and clearly. A person with a blocked throat chakra will have difficulty finding the words to express how they really feel.

  • Location: Throat
  • What it controls: Communication, self-expression, and truth
  • Mantra: “I speak my truth, always.”
  • Color: Light Blue/Turquoise
  • Element: Sound/Music
  • Stone: Aquamarine
  • Yoga pose: Fish Pose
  • When it develops: 29-35 years old

Third-Eye Chakra (Ajna)

We’re moving closer to communion with the divine as we step up the body. Our ability to see the big picture and connect to intuition is governed by the Anja, or third-eye chakra. Consider it the soul’s eye: it registers knowledge that isn’t visible on the surface. Visions and intuitive hits are normal in people who have their third-eye chakra open.

  • Location: Forehead between the eyes (also called the Brow Chakra)
  • What it controls: Intuition, imagination, and wisdom
  • Mantra: “I am open to exploring what cannot be seen.”
  • Color: Dark Blue/Purple
  • Element: Light
  • Stone: Amethyst
  • Yoga pose: Child’s Pose
  • When it develops: 36-42 years old

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

The highest chakra, the Sahasrara, or crown chakra, is located at the crown of the head and reflects our capacity to be truly spiritually linked. You can access a higher consciousness when you completely open your crown chakra, which only a few people ever do!

  • Location: The very top of the head
  • What it controls: Inner and outer beauty, spiritual connection
  • Lesson: “I am a vessel for love and light.”
  • Color: Violet/White
  • Element: Divine Consciousness
  • Stone: Clear quartz
  • Yoga pose: Headstand
  • When it develops: 43-49 years old